Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • HTC Desire – what apps and where from?
  • DickBarton

Just got a new contract from Vodafone – £25 a month and a free HTC Desire – was interested in the HD but after reading repots on the battery life, figured I didn’t need the larger screen and shorter battery life. I don’t sit on Facebook all day so the auto-update feature is likely to be swtiched off which will also save on battery.

Anyway, as I’m new to Android, I’m wondering where this App store is? Is it a single place or are there various locations? How do I find them?

I’ve done a search on here and some of the apps sound fine but where do I find them? Do I pay for them?

I don’t talk much on the phone so have 300 minutes, unlimited texts and 1Gb data – which is likely to sort me out…phone kind of lives with me and I take photos, text, taking it riding (would like an app that will save my rides in GPX format so I can sync then with http://www.mapmytracks.com – Endomondo seems good but doesn’t appear to save your workouts (or the version I’ve used on my Nokia doesn’t anyway) – MapMyTracks will be releasing an Android app soon but not yet).

How quick does the GPS get a satellite lock on the phone?

I’m happy to do a search for apps myself but have no idea how the App store works or where it is located.

Also, what do I need to do to set it up? I’ve got all my contacts on my Outlook 2007 on my PC – how do I get them all to the phone?

Sorry for the daft question but I’m impatient and want to know all this before the phone arrives so I can start playing right away instead of reading a flippin manual!

Cheers.

legspin
    Free Member

Market place icon on your phone

iDave
    Free Member

search ‘andriod apps’ on here. quite a few useful threads

MulletusMaximus
    Free Member

You can search for apps in the Market that is already installed on your phone.
    3G watchdog is good for keeping an eye on your data used per month.

DickBarton