Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • How to reduce swelling…….
  • Earl
    Free Member

Landed hard on my ass 2 weeks back. Bruising is almost gone but my ass is still swollen – feels like there is a golf ball under the skin.

I iced for a few days after the accident. Will more ice now make any difference? Has it formed scar tissue below the skin?

woody2000

Haemotoma probably mate, gentle massage will help to break it up. Might take some time though

wwaswas

too late for ice.

*I am not a doctor*

It’s probably a haematoma – so a big lump of blood really.

It’s likely it will be ‘digested’ over time and disappear. Someone on here had one for years though, I think in her leg?

I’d go an see a GP just to make sure though.

slowjo
    Free Member

OTOH…*

*I am not a doctor either

I landed on my elbow a few years back. Massive swelling and it had to be drained a couple of times. I have ended up with a fibrous type thing on the sharp bit of my elbow. Dr says it ain’t going to go away. It only hurts sometimes.

I’d pop off to the surgery to have it looked at though…best thing all round.

Earl
    Free Member

Much thanks everyone – I’ll book something in for this week.

cheers_drive

I find thinking about my gran helps
    IGMC

bikebouy
    Free Member

Yeah what was that film with the epic line “take away the pain but leave the swelling”?? 😆

Earl
    Free Member

Its not the effect I get when I think of your gran :)))

jambalaya
    Free Member

Ice is best early but still works later. Buy one of those freezer ones as it will be useful after excersize. As above massage and a doctors appointment then physio probably. If you leave stuff like this it can “lock up” / build up scar tissue as posted above. Get on it now.

oldnick

Massage it to break it up, work around the edges and just do a few minutes every day rather than a mammoth sesh (!) which would be very sore afterwards.