• This topic has 18 replies, 15 voices, and was last updated 13 years ago by Amos.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • General pace
  • steveo48
    Free Member

Hi all,
    While being still a bit new to the mtb thing after a long time away, I been mostly riding bridleways, the odd trail centre ie Swinley Forest, Woburn. I started riding again to shed some pounds and to become fitter. Anyways what kinda pace should I be riding and what’s everybody elses speed when riding? I’ll generally be at 10-15mph cross country. Is this a bit slow to make any gains.
    Ta
    Steveo.

SurroundedByZulus
    Free Member

Ride at a pace where you could just keep a conversation going. Forget about speed.

giantjason
    Free Member

i average around 10mph off-road over a year but that varies between slow rides in the winter mud and fast summer evening sprints.

however i do use riding as a socil event and tend to pottle along at a slow ish pace

steveo48
    Free Member

So it’s not all that bad of a pace, went out with some guys that were so much faster than me, so wondered if I really was too slow.

SprocketJockey
    Free Member

May be that they were just showing off? – don’t get intimidated by it, ride at your own pace.

For what it’s worth your speed sounds about right for an average speed off road in mixed conditions. Relax and enjoy yourself!

OmarLittle
    Free Member

it is very terrain and condition dependent but i dont get close to 15mph for cross country and trail centre riding like glentress etc – more like 8 or 9mph

SprocketJockey
    Free Member

I was lucky to make 7mph in the mud last weekend!

loddrik
    Free Member

OP – Did you always try to play better whilst playing football at school when girls were watching..?

paulrockliffe
    Free Member

You make it sound like that was a bad thing?

loddrik
    Free Member

I did try but I don’t think it made me play any better, the girls certainly didn’t notice.. 🙁

BoardinBob