Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Finding a way back into a renewables career
  • Waderider
    Free Member

Let’s see if Singletrack can answer this one.

I graduated as a civil engineer, did a couple of years working for a small engineering consultancy taking small hydro schemes from conception to beyond commissioning. Then I moved to the civil service a year ago to do something that has turned out to be not a lot to do with engineering.

So I’ve been job hunting for a month – Institute of Civil Engineers Website, S1 jobs, googling for relevant companies.

I’m finding few jobs advertised that could lead me back to renewables. Anyone know of any good routes for getting back into this industry?

Willing to work UK wide but wanting to maintain my house and family in Fort William.

Thanks in advance.

P.S. Sorry about the dry topic matter.

hamishthecat
    Free Member

Renewables in the UK has taken a massive hit – lot’s of people leaving that sector. I’d go for rail at the moment – appreciate that’s not helpful.

kevj
    Free Member

Vattenfall were recently advertising a project engineer role out of their Hexham office. Feasibility study through to completion for onshore windfarms.

bigjim

You’ll probably be waiting a long time if you are just waiting for job ads to appear! Certainly in consultancy my experience is networking and word of mouth is where the jobs come from.

I’d be looking for who is currently developing run of river hydro, onshore wind, who they are contracting the civils work out to, and ringing them all up and firing your cv out to them. Still a lot of onshore development going on and even every offshore development will have a significant amount of onshore work, not sure there will be a huge amount of offshore projects in Scottish waters though.

coffeeking
    Free Member