• This topic has 21 replies, 15 voices, and was last updated 7 years ago by Marin.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Estate or small van. Mtb + surfboard
  • gaslampkiller
    Free Member

I want to hear some thoughts and experiences re small vans / estate cars. Want to be able to sleep inside it and take either a few surfboards or bikes.

Currently have a mk4 golf 1.4, very boring but cheap insurance / servicing and as I drive less than 10k miles a year the relatively poor fuel economy doesn’t hit too hard (30 – 40mpg). But I can’t sleep in it so looking to change.

Had ideas of buying an lpg converted Volvo but maybe I’m dreaming (lots of lpg stations near me in brizzle). Also considered lwb ford transit connect. I’m still a student so insurance is big consideration, seems that vans are more expensive here.

jam-bo

Do you cross the bridge into Wales a lot? See what qualifies as a van as its a big jump in price from memory.

Marin
    Free Member

Van. Much better for storage and sleeping. Done the estate car option it was rubbish.

ulysse
    Free Member

B9 Berlingo / partner, not that there’s owt wrong wi m49/ m59’s, estate or van both do the job, 16hdi estate is cheaper on the Ved tho

ulysse
    Free Member

DO NOT buy a connect unless you want to keep your local mechanic and welder in beer tokens.

towzer