Viewing 36 posts - 1 through 36 (of 36 total)
  • Contractors: how do you set your day rate?
  • brooess
    Free Member

I’ve been contracting for 3 years in a company which had lots of money so my day rate was healthy. I’m now looking for my next assignment, first time on the open market and unsure how to set my day rate so it’s not so low that I lose out on income the client would have been happy to pay and not so high that I don’t get the work in the first place.
    I’ve had one client say I was ‘too experienced’ for the role, which may or may not have been a euphemism for ‘too expensive’.

I’ve heard some people talk about the 1% rule – if job is £50k perm then your day rate would be 1% of that – £500.

Other than asking recruitment agencies what my day rate should be (they’re likely to be biased towards a lower rate, I would expect), can you think of any other way. A friend of mine in HR thinks the 1% rule sounds high – that the day rate should be lower than 1%.

footflaps

We had a CEO who rated people by how much they charged, he wanted the best, so paid top whack. You’d be amazed at how utterly useless some very expensive contractors were (£1-2k per day)….

lunge

http://www.itjobswatch.co.uk/ is a reasonable start point. You can also look on places like Jobserve for a gauge as to what the roles are being advertised at.

samuri
    Free Member

I never met a contractor who didn’t try and up their rate at every single renewal even if they were only 3 months apart. Very annoying and is guaranteed to demotivate me to want to renew them.

As a guide though, I would have a trawl of the job sites to develop a good idea. Agencies will be realistic and won’t always go for lower rates. If they’re seeing trending in certain skill sets (and obviously I’m being very generous in suggesting agencies do anything as intelligent as establishing trends), then they’ll be quite happy to push for higher rates.

samuri
    Free Member