Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Community First Responders
  • barkm
    Free Member

Anyone a current or previous or have any experience of volunteering for the ambulance service?

I’ve recently ventured along this path, for the usual reasons someone volunteers for anything but mostly to offset the soul crushing pointless existence in my normal day job.
    Had my training recently, the whole experience so far has been quite eye opening, I’ve a whole new level of respect for the ‘professionals’.

blitz

Not quite but I’m a Pharmacist for an NHS community trust and we’re potential first responders for major incidents when we’re on call. I’ve done some training including volunteering for a big exercise at the Dover port simulating a terror attack explosion on a ferry. It was in the middle of the night in November and was very realistic. We had no briefing until we got there and then just had to go with it as you would. It was multi agency, helicopters involved, the lot. My role was medication supply for the ‘walking wounded’ or ‘well but missing regular meds’ survivors at the temporary rest centre. My station was a corner of a costa coffee in the service area! It was fascinating and great to be a part of. Some good learning points came out of it so you could improve things. I was quite dreading it when I got asked to go but I really enjoyed it.

Yak

My retired parents do this – c80-90ish hours between them per week. There’s a huge amount to take on, including logistics, updating maps, regular training, finances to sort etc. On a good day they get a lot of satisfaction from making a huge difference. On a bad day folk they know die. On a really bad day a child is in trouble. So be ready for the bad days too.

Well done for volunteering for this. You will always be first there and what you do will make the difference.

barkm
    Free Member