Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Can I stop ‘burping’ on my tubeless set up?
  • lyons
    Free Member

As above really, everytime I land sideways, some air comes out… Can I do anything to stop this? Using Mavic 819 Rims, and various tyres…

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

Use tubes?

mboy
    Free Member

Which tyres?

househusband

Have 819’s myself and weigh 15st; never burped a proper UST tyre.

MrNutt
    Free Member

which tyres?

racing_ralph
    Free Member

pump em up

bigdugsbaws
    Free Member

I have burped UST high rollers on 819s when the pressure is too low doing the same thing; doesnt happen on my Stans rims.

davefarmer
    Free Member

pump tyres up harder.

I have been using tubeless for 5-6 years, only ever experienced burping from Stans rims!!! Picking latex out of the hair on my arms after ripping around a corner! This happened a lot, having had two pair of olympic rims and one pair arch.

UST rims have never burped, when used with UST tyres. STD tyres are rubbish tubeless, a very loose hold on the rim and burp all the time.

If you ride hard/aggressively you need to put more than 30psi in your tyres at all times, the lighter the ytre the more air.

IE, a dh high roller 2.5 on a mavic EX823 rim can happilly run at 30psi and be leant on in corners.

A Maxxis crossmark LUST burps and folds over in corners if run at 30psi, run at a minimum of 35psi it feels great.

Del

this is why i’ve not tried tubeless again. i run around 25 or 30 psi in the front and about 30 in the back. when i ran tubeless before i had to run higher pressures to avoid burping.

gingerflash

surely with tubes and 25-30psi you just pinch flat all the time, don’t you? Do you ride a lot of rocky stuff? Are you using very heavy tyres and tubes?

owenfackrell
    Free Member