Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 48 total)
  • Bike shop want to drill into my frame
  • bros
    Free Member

I’ve just bought a Cyclocross bike (CAADX Cannondale) and want to fit some mudguards for commuting.

The guy in my LBS where I bought the bike is trying to flog me some Bontrager ones but says to fit them, he’ll need to drill out a hole in the frame on the bit that holds the seatstays together, probably where you’d attach a caliber brake (this bike has discs), sorry for my lack of technical jargon. This drilling would be to fit a spacer to hold the guards closer to the tyre as there is quite a big gap between frame and tyre.

Is this drilling really necessary? This is my brand new bike and the thought leaves me a little cold, to say the least.

The other thing is that this is a shop that has bunches of Trek on display, I asked about SKS guards and he poo poo’d them, bringing me back to Bontrager being the ONLY choice that’s suitable.

Am I being unreasonable? I’m new to cycling and definitely new to owning a nice bike. Any advice greatly appreciated

pickle
    Free Member

I’d say NO WAY! there must be mudguards that fit properly without drilling.

nickjb
    Free Member

It wouldn’t bother me as its a non structural bit but I can see why someone might not be keen for it on a new bike. I’d look at an alternative in that case, maybe a P-Clip which would have the added bonus of moving the mounting hole down a bit which it sounds like you need.

This sort of thing

wwaswas

I’d probably go for a p-clip rather than drilling but it’s not as neat looking.

scotroutes

FWIW the Bonty mudguards are really nice. Certainly easier to fit than the SKS so I can see why they’d recommend them.

As for the drilling, if a seatstay bridge can be drilled in order to take caliper brakes I can’t see that a mudguard bracket will be a problem 🙂

STATO
    Free Member

Only pic I found looks like it has a thread to fit guards, your not have this?

bros
    Free Member