Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 42 total)
  • Beginner camera choice
  • jim25

I would like to get a new camera, mainly to take better quality pictures of my work projects, I’m a carpenter, so allsorts of projects big and small.

‘m fed up with crappy iphone/small cameras not being able to get in picture what i’ve built!
    So I’m after something with a wider angle lense to fit more in when taking pictures inside rooms etc.

Should i go for a budget DLSR like the Nikon D3300/D3400 or a bridging camera something like this Panasonic

From what I’ve gathered the dslr can change there lenses to suit but the bridge cameras can’t.
    Any advice from camera people in the know?

Malvern Rider
    Free Member

Your requirement seems mainly about lens choice.

You’ll most always be served better with a DSLR or micro 4/3rds (interchangeable lenses) for very wide angle/indoors shots but the decent wide-angle lenses are usually spendy.

Some of this cost can be offset by buying a decent used (low-shutter count) DSLR, or if lucky a DSLR with wide angle included. If you are accustomed to taking and editing pics on a phone then factor in the extra time taking pics off a camera and importing/editing on yr tablet/PC.

The Panasonic you linked goes 20mm wide which may be OK, have a look online at some full-wide (@20mm) sample pics taken in similar environments to yours?

You can get wide-angle clip-on lens adapters for phones, although typically lower-quality may be worth a look. IME phones are mostly rubbish for low-light/indoor photography.

If you typically have the space to step back farther and capture the subject from a greater distance then a good quality bridge or compact zoom camera may well do the job as you have higher IQ than a phone and can you crop into the subject when editing yet still have usable image at least for web uploads?

jim25