Viewing 29 posts - 1 through 29 (of 29 total)
  • Back to MTB riding after some years.
  • ic31420
    Free Member

Until xmas i had not owned an MTB for around 12 years.

At the end of last year i had been looking at various hard tail bikes, but some how got caught with the idea of buying a full SUS and ended up with a new Boardman Team FS at a bargain price of just under £800. I did briefly consider the more expensive model but the deal wasn’t as good and left it about £350 more, for the same bike with 1×10, Rear Lockout and arguably better brakes.

Ive done a couple of hundred miles on the thing now and we are getting to know each other quite well. I have found that MTB is much more of a general all over body work out than the usual road cycling I have been doing for the last 10 years. I am learning to live with the bike moving around under me and I am now getting over the shock of brake pads lasting less than 50 miles.

I have however found that climbing is harder work than i expected and I like climbing. I think it is due to the different geometry as much as anything and I just have to learn to that I am not going to be going up the Rammy Rake as fast on the MTB as I would on the road/hybrid.

The bike is fitted with a RS Monarch R rear shock which does not have the lockout, when on road I turn to knob to make the can as slow as possible and thus reducing the bob, when climbing off road i have it a couple of clicks in from the slowest.

Is this the right thing to do?
    Would a lockout improve things?

Secondly the bike is fitted with Continental X King tyres and I cant say that I am blown away by them, they roll well enough but traction in muddy or loose conditions is poor. Can anyone recommend me a tyre ideally from Schwalbes range (i get mates rates) that will be good for rear traction in loose gritty rocky paths and muddy conditions whilst still being a sensible weight and rolling sensibly well? Or am I asking for the Moon on a stick?

grannyjone