• This topic has 22 replies, 19 voices, and was last updated 13 years ago by muff.
Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Any tips for negotiating salary for a new job?
  • cheers_drive

Does anyone have any tips for negotiating salary for a new job? Basically I’ve been offered a job with a company that approached me because I have expetise they currently haven’t got but the offer (about 8% more than now) isn’t as much as I had hoped (at least 20%). The role sounds interesting and will be a challenge to help them enter a new category but that brings it own risk especially as I would be leaving a secure job in a company that has been growing massively for 10 years.
    I’ve no experience of negotiating salary; I have a feeling that they have chanced their arm with a low offer and expect me to negotiate. Do I just state what I want or go in way above that and expect to meet in the middle?

Sorry if this is a bit vague but I’d rather not give out specifics.

xiphon
    Free Member

Depends on how much you want the job? And also, how much they want to employ you?

If *they* want you, more than *you* want them, the salary increase swings in your favour.

Opposite applies the other way round.

You currently have a job, which means you have a much better position to negotiate from.

Stoner
    Free Member

Just say that the offer isnt compelling enough to compensate for ….

Expected bonus?
    Training offered?
    Extra travelling?
    Holidays?
    Work environment?

… but say £Xk would do it for you.

5thElefant
    Free Member

Tell them what you want and ask them what they can do. Don’t refuse the offer as such (unless it really isn’t enough). At worst they’ll say they can’t improve the offer. I’d expect them to be able to improve on some part of the package to do the deal. The key thing is to engage in a discussion.

Cougar

Lie about your current salary. (-: