Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Any surfers on here?
  • Mush
    Free Member

I’m planning on taking a short holiday to somewhere warm before I move to London to start a new job in mid-October. I thought it might be fun to learn to surf so does anyone have any tips as to where to go at this time of year and which companies might be good to go with?

I’m a total beginner to surfing so tuition would be a must. Morocco looks appealing.

Failing that, does anyone know of the surfing equivalent of Singletrackworld that I could ask around on?

gavtheoldskater
    Free Member

not much surf on the thames!

try magicseaweed.com for a forum.

for surfing lessons, just type 'surfing course' and then your destination.

also look at portugal (algarve) and the canaries.

coffeeking
    Free Member

And do kitesurfing, it's a million times better, and do-able properly in the UK 😀

mangoridebike

Portugal is apparently very good, although the water can be a bit chilly. not sure if the weather is particularly warm at this time of year.

Or Cornwall – best time of year for surfing there.

surfer
    Free Member

Only me!

Dont "surf" as such unfortunately.

richiethesilverfish
    Free Member

Thats actually a slightly trickier question than you might think.

The problem with October is that in all the 'tourist' type destinations you'll find a lot of surf schools, etc have shut down for the season and if you try to avoid this issue by heading to a more hardcore surf area (Lacannau, Hossegor, etc) then the surf may be too big for you to learn on.

I surf in the UK afair bit (last night infact!) but travel to France about twice a year for some surfing too. I always head over in October before heading down to race at the Roc D'Azur and so far in four years of doing it I've never had swell under head high along the West Coast.