Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • WordPress setup help?
  • cakefest
    Free Member

I’m setting up a simple website for a shop, and I’m going to use WordPress. I already have a registered domain and hosting set up for it, and have previously set up my own website using WordPress.

I’m looking at themes for the shop website, which needs to have some nav buttons to go to pages which will contain some text and images. And I want to feature lots of images. In some ways the Portfolio-type themes are relevant. I also want to be able to change the logo on the home page for the shop logo.

I see some WP themes are free, but others I have to pay for. How do I know if I’m getting good value for money? Or if I will be able to find support if there’s a problem?

So what should I watch out for?

And anyone got any good links to safe, usable WP themes for use on a separate website?

clubber
    Free Member

I’m no WP expert but when I installed WP, I could just search for themes from within the admin console. As far as I could see there are loads of decent, free ones.

nickjb
    Free Member

There are enough good free ones to not need to pay for anything. I found the search a bit poor and need to persevere to find the right one. Most are pretty customisable once you have the basic layout.

wwaswas

No advice other than find a theme that you like and works for you, a few quid now will be worth it if it makes the development process easier.

If you do get a theme and want to make any changes to it do this via a child theme – it’ll make future updates a lot easier.

muppetWrangler
    Free Member

My current go to theme is Enfold. Its a paid for theme which has a large and active user base, forum questions get answered in reasonable time and the support is pretty good. If you think you might need a bit of support along the way it’s a good idea too look how many downloads a theme has and how active the user base is.