Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • What to write in a cover letter
  • ianpinder
    Free Member

I am applying for a job at a company called gems, I worked for them for 3 months in my second (of 5) years at uni. they are office based but ocasionally your required to go on site to do some testing and bore hole drilling and I am just wondering what you put in a cover letter.

here is what i have so far

My name is Ian Pinder; I am a final year student at the University of Bath, and I am interested in applying for the graduate geotechnical engineer position.
    My work experience within G.E.M.S. has given me a valuable insight into what the job involves; I enjoyed the office working environment, and having had the opportunity to work onsite with Costain, I believe that having the opportunity to work onsite for G.E.M.S. only increases the appeal.

My time at Costain, and the management training I am receiving at Pizza Hut has helped build on what I learnt at G.E.M.S. and now I can effectively work in a team, manage my time, my own responsibilities, and other people. It has helped me mature as a person and now I feel I can bring something to your company in this tough economic climate.

what are your thoughts on this, and what else can i add?

crazy-legs

Get rid of the “my name is…” bit, they know that from your CV.
    Repetition of “opportunity to work onsite”, that needs changing.

Mention where you saw the vacancy. Possibly a bit more about the work experience you did for them, perhaps drop in the name of your Team Leader/Tech Manager (whatever these people are called), it’ll stand out a bit more.

ianpinder
    Free Member

Its a small company, my team leader is the person i am applying to he will remember me, just i have not seen him since i left so i want to make it formal. thanks for the constructive comments on the rest will give it a quick re write

mrgibbons
    Free Member