Viewing 29 posts - 1 through 29 (of 29 total)
  • Upgrading to Android Nougat
  • shermer75
    Free Member

My smart phone (Samsung S7) is prodding me to upgrade the OS. Is this something I want to do? Will it improve the phone or make lots of annoying changes?

Apologies if this is an obvious question, I’m a bit new to this! 🙂

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Been our for a while for other phones, happy with it on the nexus

shermer75
    Free Member

Thanks! Good to know! 🙂

Cougar

Did my tablet the other week. Painless, can’t say as I’ve noticed a vast difference one way or the other.

shermer75
    Free Member

Sounds good enough to me! Upgrade button pressed 🙂

Bimbler
    Free Member

Fear not. I was in the beta program for Nougat on the S7 and from the first build I got to the final release it’s been flawless as an OS, do think the battery life may have taken a bit of a hit. But overall quite a bit better than Marshmallow imo.

IHN

But overall quite a bit better than Marshmallow imo.

In what way? Bar the split screen stuff, I can’t see a difference.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

https://www.android.com/versions/nougat-7-0/
    It seems the quick reply to texts arrived – quite a nice neat little feature, improved quick settings, more improvements to now, but just general nice to haves, no need to start a 30 page fanboi epic just keeps it ticking over.

Bimbler
    Free Member

Find it smoother, faster, less jerky (there was not much before but smoother now), better notifications quick settings etc. More polished all round really.

fisha
    Free Member

Installed it a few days ago on my S7 edge. Seems OK so far, but the 1st attempt at install seemed to fail half way through.

As for battery, I’d actually say mine has improved ever so slightly. Maybe by a couple of hours. I’ve noticing i’m finishing the day around 20-30% rather than 10-20%.