Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Tendinitis – what's the deal?
  • shortcut

I have just finished LEJoG and hav been pretty much ignoring Achilles Temdinitis for much of the last week of riding.

Now I am home what do I need to do to get over it and back on the bike?

Thanks

SC

scud
    Free Member

I’m no medical expert (not that it has stopped anyones opinion on here) but had same in my elbow, anti-inflammatories didn’t seem to cure it, i had a series of 2-3 steroid injections and that finally cleared it up.

globalti
    Free Member

Rest and Ibuprofen.

It will go away with time.

bellerophon
    Free Member

I’m with Scud on this; I had (got as I’m not sure yet if it ever really goes away) supraspinatus tendonitis, rest and anti-inflammatories didn’t work, the first steriod jab made a wee bit of difference, an ultrasound scan showed where the problem was which the second steriod jab sorted out.

anc
    Free Member

I’d be looking at your setup also. Something ain’t right if your upsetting your Achilles, can be lots of things but saddle height and foot support/angle/cant are the usual suspects.

TimP
    Free Member

Agreed on set-up. Mine got pretty chronic, but now solved with orthotics, stretches, exercises and a bit of deep tissue massage and ultrasound at the start

scu98rkr
    Free Member

anti-inflammatories didn’t seem to cure it

I cant possibly see how anti-inflammatories could cure Tendinitis.

In fact they are likely to delay recovery by reducing blood flow and healing to the damaged area.

The steroids injections in the other hand do exactly the opposite by irritating the area they encourage inflammation and healing.

I think theres a bit of a misunderstanding with anti inflammatory’s and the constant advice to take them.

There never going to heal anything. There just there to hide the symptoms and rest is meant to heal you.