Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Stans ZTR 355….How tough?
  • nukeproof
    Free Member

Needing a new 20mm front wheel as I’ve got some Pikes on order for my hardtail. Just looking at the Hope Hoops at Wheelpro and they’ll be doing Pro IIs on 355 or Flow. Now from the look of it Arch rims would be perfect compromise between the 355 and the Flow but they are not doing those as Hope Hoops but a custom front wheel build would be £158 at JRA…over £50 more than Wheelpro Hope Hoops.

Flow seem overkill for my riding (Surrey Hills) so how tough are 355s for the front? Currently running a Mavic 317 with Revs and thats been fine. The 355s are 19mm internally which is the same as the Mavic 719 on the back. Also had a set of 355 29ers and they seemed very good.

uplink
    Free Member

I reckon 355s are tougher than Mavic 317s

aviemoron
    Free Member

I have been using the 29er 355’s for nearly two years now on rocky terrain (Cairngorms area) and had no problems so far.

nukeproof
    Free Member

I reckon 355s are tougher than Mavic 317s

Yep, reckon you’re right

I have been using the 29er 355’s for nearly two years now on rocky terrain (Cairngorms area) and had no problems so far.

Yeah, found the same when I had a set.

I’m sure a 355 would be fine, just seems a bit lightweight when matched up with Pikes and 2.35 Highroller

cynic-al
    Free Member

My olympics have held up as well as 717s

nukeproof
    Free Member

Still can’t decide…anymore opinions?

355s as tough as Mavic 719s or should I be looking at the Arch rims?

Forks have arrived now and I’m itching to put them on but don’t have a compatible front wheel 🙁

nodrog2
    Free Member

355’s and flow both seem to be tough enough, my only concern with them would be that they don’t have eyelets. Having said that, i haven’t actually seen one of these rims crack yet.

SigmaF
    Free Member

Got 2 sets of 355 on Pro II’s