Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Sonos
  • mikey74
    Free Member

OK, I’m looking to dip my toe in the manky pool of Sonos and I was wondering if you have any tips on which setup will work best.

It will be used to play music in one 5x5m room (living room) and will be used to play music stored on my Synology NAS. I also wouldn’t mind being able to stream stuff from my Macbook, but that’s not essential.

I currently play music on my “traditional” hi-fi using a Android phone/Google Chromecast Audio connection, so I am happy to use my phone as the main “player”.

BoardinBob

Sonos 3 here in a similar sized room. Plenty loud. Love mine

mrlebowski
    Free Member

I don’t think much of the speakers themselves, but the player is fine.

I’ve no knowledge of the sound bar

Sandwich

If it matters to you Sonos are due to update their T’s & C’s to allow them to collect more data on the usage, location and network info. If you won’t accept them you lose the security updates and extra functions. Details on The Register

bigG
    Free Member

Sonos 5 in a similar sized room and it sounds amazeballs, got a play 3in my daughters room which is a wee bit smaller and to be honest it’s probably big enough to fill the living room with sound.

Have you considered a pair of play1 working in stereo? I had that set up in my living room before I bought the play 5 and it was pretty good imho.

onandon
    Free Member

Purchased three 5s and two 3s. Thought it sounded pretty crap ( lifeless ) so returned it all to the store.

CaptainSlow

I’ve got a 5 in the bedroom. The best thing I can say about it is that it is convenient.

It replaced an old mini hifi thing. I miss the mini hifi. If I was doing it again I’d get an amp that streams and a pair of speakers

The one speaker, while very, very good for one speaker, just isn’t as good as two speakers.

Bear
    Free Member

Consensus I read was a pair of ones is better than a single 3, which works out a similar price.