Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Snowdon on a hardtail – will I die?
  • timnwild

Watching some of the trail vids for the Ranger’s Path descent makes me wonder if i’ll spend the whole day shaking like a leaf, or carrying the bike. Any thoughts? I don’t mind picking my way down, but I want to enjoy myself…

I’ve happily ridden Afan, Peaks, Brechfa etc so I’m not a total novice – it just looks really chunky.

RichieBoy
    Free Member

I did it on a Cove Stiffee and i’m still alive

higgo
    Free Member

You will die.
    (both of you)

thepodge
    Free Member

Simon did it on a rigid SS.

Depends how good you are, not the bike

nedrapier

I rode it on a hardtail, and I hurt my knee.

Hope that helps.

Pook

one day you will die.

snowdon on a hardtail is great fun however.

honourablegeorge

Friend of a friend did it on a hybrid, I believe.

kayak23

I did it on a Norco hardtail several years ago and as far as I can tell I didn’t die. Its great fun 🙂

LMT
    Free Member

Done it twice this year both times on my Orange P7 no problems, just take some spare brake pads just in case! great ride imo.

Stevelol
    Free Member

I did it on my full sus a couple of weeks ago for the first time I was glad for the full squish, but it’d be equally fun on a hardtail, the first section past the railway is fairly smooth and any rocks can be avoided, and the rougher rockier section afterwards (down the zig zags etc) will be just as fun on a hardtail if you’re a fan of picking your way down and finding the smooth lines.

Take at least 2 spare inner tubes, a patch kit and a decent pump though 😀

binners

Pfft! I did it on a unicycle*

* this may not actually be true

beanieripper
    Free Member

Been down the ranger path a few times on a ht, great fun & really rideable.

timnwild