Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Skiing in March (Les Deux Alpes)
  • mrmiyagi
    Free Member

Is anyone here a keen skier or have any experience at skiing in March?
    This is my first time going and would like some advice.

I’ve been told that skiing in Les Deux Alpes can get a little sweaty at that time of year. I was wondering if it would be better to go with a proper ski jacket or take a number of thinner layers so they can be removed through out the day if I get warm.

This is a bit of a stupid question but I don’t want to spend money on a jacket and not use it.

What would you guys recommend taking?

Thanks

sandwicheater

I ski in my normal outdoor waterproofs (jacket and trousers) and have merino long johns and merino long sleeve thermal top and a t-shirt. If really cold may stick a jumper on but has been fine all the years i’ve skied.

Can’t comment on March but i’m sure it will be grand.

grum
    Free Member

Not sure what you mean by a proper ski jacket but I’ve never used insulated/padded jackets. My ski/snowboard jackets have always been pretty much a shell then you can wear whatever layers underneath are needed.

Been getting on well with a soft-shell like this recently though – might be good for spring skiing/boarding with just a thin base layer underneath.

wobbliscott
    Free Member

I’ve been skiing in March (usually aim for the first week in march) for the last 18 years.