Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Silsden routes / Group rides?
  • jaymoid

Hi,

I’m new to Silsden, and looking for some local offroad to pootle around on. Ideally from the door, I know there’s plenty of stuff in Bingley, Ilkley, etc but I dont have time to faff getting my bike in the car in the evenings so need something from my door. Any recomendations, or routes to share please?

Are there any evening rides that I may be able to join in on please? I was out walking with the misses last night and saw a herd of mtb’ers lit up come passed us (round the back of the the new aldi) and got very jealous so if anyone doesnt minds me tagging along, I’d really appreciate it!

Many thanks…
    James

chestrockwell

Hey James. If you ride on the back road over ‘Cringles’ you’ll get to Skipton Moor. From there you can hit all the tracks around Bolton Abbey, Bardon Moor etc. A decent little route is to look on the map look for Draughton Heights, find the bridleway nearby and head to Skipton. From there you can come back along the canal or go further a field. 😉

martinhutch

Skipton CC do evening rides for mtbers, I think.

As ChestRockwell says, the BW across Draughton Heights and the descent into Skipton is worth doing. Various cheek above Farnhill and Addingham that can be worked into that, plus it’s pretty easy just to ride up and out onto the back end of Ilkley Moor from Silsden.

keng38
    Free Member

Facebook group called trails tribulations and cake do loads around that area.

B.A.Nana
    Free Member

I’m in Bingley and go up onto Rombolds Moor sometimes in the Summer, have been told that the FP on Addingham Moor from Silsden is ok in the dry, the one which traverses to Swastika Stone and beyond, I think (might be the higher track) .

NB Rombolds Moor is the name for the whole Moor, divided into Addingham Moor, Ilkley Moor, Bingley Moor, Burley Moor etc etc.