Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Newbie, technical help required! Stressed out! Haha!
  • infiniteinteger
    Free Member

A few days ago I bought a Marin Quake 7.8 second hand and it’s got 2009 Rock Shox Domain 318 (180mm) fork on it. They were lovely and plush when I inspected the bike. The bike has just been sitting in a garage most of its life, hardly used, in superb condition.

When I got the bike home I turned it upside down to make oiling the chain a bit easier. I could hear the sound of fluid moving in the fork as soon as I turned it upside down, it lasted about 15-20 seconds. I am new to this and assumed it as normal. Anyway, I turned the bike back upright and left it.

The following day I went to inspect the bike before a blast and the fork won’t compress fully. It will move 30-40% of its travel then won’t budge even with all my weight on it, and I’m 95kg. The fork looks like new and really hasn’t been used much so I don’t know what’s going on.

I’ve done a load of searching and from what I’ve read its hydro lock but I don’t understand exactly what’s happened, why it’s happened and what to do about it. Also I’ve read hydrolock is when oil is in the lower when it shouldn’t be. Well when the bike was upside down it sounded like oil was moving then, which means it went to the uppers and stayed there?

I’m sorry for the long post but my heads spinning now haha… I havent even been for a blast on my new bike yet and I am clucking for it!

davidtaylforth
    Free Member

There should be some oil in the lowers, but only a tiny bit (to keep the bushings lubed).

I think the majorirty of the oil is in a sealed cartridge. Perhaps the seal has degraded and the oil has leaked out?

This is a guess though!

infiniteinteger
    Free Member

In the sealed damper cartridge? I could hear oil moving somewhere when I had the bike upside down, so it moved to the top of the fork. I am baffled. Is the sealed cartridge right at the top of the fork?

teethgrinder