• This topic has 163 replies, 21 voices, and was last updated 3 years ago by cb200.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 164 total)
  • I've just set up my own distillery company!
  • Kit
    Free Member

It’s very easy actually! £12 to Companies House, all done online, heard back within 24hrs. But there’s more to it than that…

The back story:
    Last year I got my PhD and have been struggling to find work since I moved back home to rural Dumfries and Galloway. I’m currently on New Enterprise Allowance to help get a photography business off the ground, but it’s something I really don’t feel is going to happen. So, at the moment, I’m time rich and with some ideas.

The long term plan at home is to take over from my dad in managing the family estate. We’re small fry, like most private estates, with a steady but small income. I’m looking to diversify the estate’s income from a traditional model of farming, rented housing and forestry but developing some under used estate assets.

One option is the conversion of the home farm steading, a 200 year old building that has largely sat empty for the last 30 years or so. My dad looked at converting to housing years ago, but opted instead to build new houses across the road. I want to do something commercial. So, without any prior knowledge of the industry, I’m thinking of opening a distillery in part of the building!

Where I am now:
    The most important thing right now is to cost up the process from conversion to manufacturing a product. I have access to some capital from a recent farm sale, but with no experience here I’m currently trying to work out the capital costs involved in converting an old farm building, buying in the kit, raw materials, employing a distiller, marketing, etc. I’ve been in touch with a couple of consultancies who will, I hope, give me a number I can work with. It won’t be cheap, as I’m looking to do the whole distillation process myself (fermentation to bottling).