Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • I'm looking at Compound Mitre saws…. Advice needed
  • womble72
    Free Member

I’m a complete novice but quite handy with tools and I’m going to be making tables, workbenches, shelving units etc for my workshop. I’ll be cutting up scaffolding planks and recycled pine and would like to buy some decent tools. First up is the saw, I quite like the look of the Festool Kapex120 but is there an alternative that is slightly less wallet busting but will do just as good a job for my need?

curvature
    Free Member

Ive just upgraded all of our Makita and Bosch kit to Festool.

However I have kept our 18v Makita and Bosch 110v mitre saws.

The Bosh one was around the £400 mark and we have been really pleased with it since buying it in January.

The Festool kit is very good but not sure the saw is worth it unless you are doing very accurate and repetitive work.

The Festool plunge saw and drills are just incredible pieces of kit. Very light and the batteries last for days compared to hours with the makita.

qwerty
    Free Member

Do “complete novice” & “Festool” belong in the same sentance?

qwerty
    Free Member

apologies if that sounded bitchy – not intended 🙂

wwaswas

this is stw and the answer is ‘Yes’ 🙂

qwerty
    Free Member

FWIW i went with a Makita LS0714, which is great. Only con being it can only cut up to 52mm thick @ 90′ and some of my timbers have been 75mm – 100mm, but mostly <52mm.

http://www.makitauk.com/product/saws/mitre-saws/slide-compound-mitre-saw/ls0714-190mm-slide-compound-saw.html

LS1016 will cut 91mm thick, LS1216 will go to 102mm.

footflaps

You rang?

Festool kit is lovely and if you can afford it, why not?

properbikeco
    Free Member

if you are just building stuff for your workshop get a cheap one!

evolution refurb for £60 has done me well so far for all interior house jobs

considering how much use it will get in future I’m glad I didn’t blow £400 on one

russ295
    Free Member