Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 78 total)
  • If you could go back to university and do it all again what would you do and why
  • neilsonwheels
    Free Member

…?

If you could wind back the clock and do it all again with the benefit of hindsight what career path would you choose second time round.?

Stoner
    Free Member

if I went back to uni I wouldnt go to study for a career. Already did that and it’s a fine life, but next time Id wish I was a proper mathematician.

radtothepowerofsik
    Free Member

Science because I was good at it rather than computing because I wanted a job out of it

ebygomm
    Free Member

i wouldn’t go to university

Garry_Lager

I wish I’d worked harder at shagging and philandering, would try to put that right second time round.

Srsly – I ended up staying in academia and am very happy with my chosen field (chemistry). I’m sometimes envious of younger fields, though – organic chemistry is 170 years old and it’s very very hard to do the type of genre-defining work you can do in younger disciplines.

There’s a converse argument to that which I won’t bore anyone with, but means I’m pretty satisfied with working in such a venerable area.

binners

I wouldn’t bother. There’s no way on earth the wages in my industry would make it worthwhile taking on that kind of debt.

There are surely less expensive ways nowadays to spend a couple of years off your tits

darrell
    Free Member

i’d do it 10 years previously instead of waiting until i was in my late 20’s

but i’d still do geology

D0NK

If you could go back to university and do it all again

idiotist!

SaxonRider

Stoner – Member
    if I went back to uni I wouldnt go to study for a career. Already did that and it’s a fine life, but next time Id wish I was a proper mathematician.

That’s exactly what I want my kids to think when their time to make choices comes. It seems to me that if you study for its own sake, the work – whatever the discipline – will come.