Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Fed up with retail management! What job can I do?
  • ashleydwsmith
    Free Member

As title really, work for a DIY retailer, and to be honest fed up with it. Only 33 and would like a career change, but with minimal qualifications just gcses I’m struggling. I was thinking of opening my own bike shop but not sure that’s a good idea!

Anybody got similar experiences? The wage I gt is high for the retail sector so worried about the risk involved.

twinw4ll
    Free Member

If it’s BuntQ, you have no hope of another job anywhere. 😉
    Lots of building sites popping up everywhere, site management?

ashleydwsmith
    Free Member

no its not them, not sure if its retail or the job. just had enough ot be honest. and as a result not givig it my best all the time.

LMT
    Free Member

I work in retail management, work for biggest supermarket in this country maybe one day the world !! All retail is tough at the moment, we are restructuring taking a level of management out, line mgr my role having to reapply for our jobs so they can cut salaries down.

I have a degree but it’s worthless now as it was in computer science, not sure what else I would do if the worse happened, just racking up some Sunday overtime and a few bank hols for a saving fund, to see me through the tough times ahead.

gears_suck
    Free Member

Do you have a mortgage, credit cards, car payment, wife, kids? If you answer yes to any of these, you will be and probably should be a bit scared. That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t take risks. It just means you will have to make sure that if you do, you have a contingency plan.
    I recommend a complete shake up up at least every ten years. Mind you, at 53 and not much materialistically to show for it, some might question my logic.