• This topic has 8 replies, 7 voices, and was last updated 13 years ago by cb.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Cyberduck – anybody used it? FTP
  • cb

I am a complete novice with websites. I have a very basic site which I have put together via iweb on my Mac.

I bought a domain name from BT but was recommended Native Space as a good host. I now need to upload my website files to the hosting package and I am clueless. All the “Help” is by email which takes ages and comes from a timezone other than GMT! These helpdesk jockies from sunnier climes seem to talk in jargon and nothing else (even after repeated requests!).

Can anybody provide an idiots guide as to how to upload these files please?

Thanks

PimpmasterJazz
    Free Member

Both Cyberduck and Fetch are pretty good and intuative. I use Fetch – it’s quite literally a drag and drop.

dawson

i use Filezilla – its open source.

put in your site details to connect to your site and then upload the files from your machine to your website – just drag the files from your ‘local’ window to the ‘remote’ window

CharlieMungus
    Free Member

i use cuteftp

Dougal
    Free Member

Cyberduck is a pretty great piece of software. I use it almost everyday to work with S3 buckets. FTP? What is this, 1998?

marsdenman
    Free Member

Loving cyberduck – use it 2-3 times a week, nice and simple – and that’s just me… 😉
    Tis so good I did donate recently (you get a request after each few uses – polite and easily ignored but I figured it is worth it to me….)

edit – sorry cb, missed your thing about having set up your site on a MAC, in which case it may be worth the £59 a year to have a ‘mobile me’ acct with Apple?
    Pretty sure that makes it almost 100% easy to upload and host your mac generated stuff – £59 notes will have a lot on here laughing and pointing but, like you I am worse than bad with anything computer based so would suggest it’s worth looking up?

cb