Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Controlling electro magnet via USB?
  • flanagaj
    Free Member

The savvy ones amongst you will have gathered that I want to build a Tacx style bike trainer where the resistance of the rear roller is controlled via the PC. Plan is to basically use an electro magnet to control how many watts you have to put into the system to turn the roller.

If any hardware wizards out there can give me an inclination as to how you would do this and what is required that would be great. I am a java programmer and am planning on learning C++ to write the device driver and will call the C++ dll via JNA.

stevehine

How are you planning on varying the strength of the force ? Moving the magnet physically closer or by varying the voltage applied ?

If the second; you’re going to need to output across some GPIO pins; and some external buffering; then some D->A conversion to get a given signal value out and finally some sort of current drive (an amplifier with low gain essentially)

I’d be interested in how this turns out – I’ve had vague plans to build something similar for a while !

stevehine

Actually; thinking about it – if you can control the electromagnetic via pulse width modulation; that might make it all a bit simpler; then you are just turning it on and off from a serial bit stream

flanagaj
    Free Member

How are you planning on varying the strength of the force ? Moving the magnet physically closer or by varying the voltage applied ?

If the second; you’re going to need to output across some GPIO pins; and some external buffering; then some D->A conversion to get a given signal value out and finally some sort of current drive (an amplifier with low gain essentially)

I’d be interested in how this turns out – I’ve had vague plans to build something similar for a while !

Fancy a project?

stevehine