Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Commute recommendations, 15 miles each way
  • aw
    Free Member

I am a veteran commuter but would like to hear tips for surviving the winter commute?

I currently use a boardman team carbon with mudguards fitted

I also have used a genesis flyer single speed but it’s a little hilly on the way home so hard work and have struggled to fit mudguards to it.

The distance is 30 miles total and is downhill in and pretty much uphill all the way home!

Maybe I need a more robust bike just for the commute. I use my boardman as my main road bike

danti

It sounds like you’ve almost answered your own question, being a “veteran” get rid of the Genesis singlespeed and if you like their geometry etc then get something like a Day One / CdF or Planet X Kaffenback which will be a bit comfier for 15 miles and fit compact chainset, guards and some decent puncture proof tyres like Schwalbe Marathon Plus.
    They’re a bit heavier than some but do you want to be faffing with a puncture on a dark morning/night?

beefheart
    Free Member

I have never bothered with mudguards- if it rains, I get a wet arse, but I remain slick, sleek and fast…
    (I do however get to shower, wash clothes and change at work…).
    Gears are probably your friend, especially when there is any gradient to be considered.
    On my road bike, I haven’t had a puncture since fitting Conti Gatorskins.
    On my MTB, I haven’t had a puncture since going tubeless.

flap_jack
    Free Member

On my road bike, I haven’t had a puncture since fitting Conti Gatorskins.

This. Remarkable toughness. No grip, mind…

alansd1980

I have a 35 mile round trip, downhill in and uphill home.
    Don’t underestimate how hard it can be home on a wet windy evening after a long day.