Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 109 total)
  • Classic motorbike market – any experts?
  • bedmaker

What with the downturn and all, is now a good time to buy a classic bike?
    I’m guesing the market for £3-4000 bikes is fairly constant and largely unaffected by economic woes in the way that the market for £50,000 e types and the like might be.
    Anyone know much about this?

dogbert
    Free Member

you can get a Classic Bike buyers guide from Sainsburys and what not, i picked one up just to look at the pictures, but they give you a good idea of what is a good buy. At the moment i would presume late 70’s/early 80’s japanese bikes:

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

OMG – not a plastic maggot (cx 500) as a classic please.

Woody
    Free Member

I’m not an expert but from having the occasional look around there does seem to have been a slowing of the market. From what I’ve seen, prices for the most desirable models are still good and some acknowledged classics appear to go for silly money at the top end, as do vintage race bikes.

People are being a bit more choosy down the food chain and it’s a bit odd for more modern ‘classics’ eg. I’m selling my ’92 XTZ660 Tenere which seems to be worth considerably less than a ’89 XT600 and XT500’s from the 70/80’s are going for thousands!

What sort of classic are you looking for and price range?

Edit: could be worse TJ – I’ve seen Honda Dream’s touted as classics 😯

Woody
    Free Member

Vintage bikes for sale with some very scary prices!

Nice Vincent 😯

supertacky
    Free Member

My father bought a 1953 Triumph T110 about six years ago for £4k. Last week he was offered £10k for it. Not concourse but in good usable condition.

The classic market is a fickle thing. Honda RC30 is a good expamle of a bike that would never go down in value because of its race heritage.

I kick myself that I past up a chance to buy one about ten years ago.

totalshell