Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Boarding victorian loft – have you lifted joist height or not?
  • deepreddave
    Free Member

I’m looking to lay some boards in my loft this weekend and just wondering if I should lay timbers across the joists to raise the board height and allow for a decent level of insulation or just reduce insulation and trust that boards will trap some of the heat?

The joists are not particularly deep and so I wouldn’t get much rockwool in without possibly pressing on the back of the lathe and plaster ceilings which I defintely do not want to do! If I need to raise height and lay rockwool both in joists and between new timbers do I need to worry about air flow under the new boards at all?

I’m a novice diyer if that makes a difference!

easygirl

If you are thinking of walking on the boards, you will need to lay thicker joists and support them at the wall
    The joists in he ceiling were not designed to take any weight, just to hold the lath and plaster up.
    If you do start to walk on them expect your ceiling plaster to develop some cracks at best

29erKeith
    Free Member

I did for the section of the loft I wanted to board for storage

then just roll it out for the for the rest over the top

deadlydarcy
    Free Member

As easygirl said…

They’re not joists. Just rafters.

deepreddave
    Free Member