Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Bike storage rack ideas for multiple bikes
  • wildc4rd
    Free Member

I’m in the process of sorting out some decent bike storage in the garage, something along the lines of the photo below. Its to store 8 bikes, so trying to keep it fairly compact. My main question, if the bike is hung from a hook on the front wheel, but still in contact with the wall (kind of as they are in the pic below, not free hanging), how stable are they, what is it going to need on the rear wheel/base to stop it swinging sideways into another bike.

I’ll probably stagger the heights, so have a short 250/300mm ramp on every other position to mitigate handlebar and crank/pedal interference. I’m a joiner by trade, so have all the tools and machines (and the wood) to do pretty much anything in timber.

Any other recommendations of rack style would be great, but its quite a few bikes in the least space so I still have some usable garage!

wwaswas

I hang all mine from the garage joists (hook on every other joist) – you need to position the hooks so that the weight of the bike pivoting on the wheel holds it against the wall and then they stay where they’re put. Hang them at about 45 degrees to the wall if you want – they take up less width. you can put a ‘stop’ block of wood at the right height to give the back (or front if you alternate the way you hang them to avoid bar clashes) wheel somethign to rest against.

STATO
    Free Member

As long as the wheel hook is somewhere similar to where it is in the picture (about 45degrees to the axle) then the bikes are really stable, they want to hang perpendicular to the wall. Mine are like that, no rear wheel support needed, infact its better without as it lets you swing bikes away a little to get middle bikes out.

Gary_M
    Free Member