Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • 456 or Summer Season?
  • haddock
    Free Member

Question from my better half.
    14 inch frame with a 4 inch Reba air fork, want stability, the main complaint of her current bike is its twitchyness.
    I'm inclined towards the Summer season (slacker head angle and I guess a slightly longer wheelbase), but concerned the 4 inch fork on the 456 gives the same 70.5 head angle as the bike shes got now. A future swap to a 130mm Tora would be an option to slacken the head angle – the down side being I doubt she would get 20 % sag on the standard coil fork.
    Does the Summer season age well, does it just rust under the laquer or could it be a problem for a year round bike?
    I've little knowledge of the Summer season, Any thoughts?

B.A.Nana
    Free Member

I've little knowledge of the Summer season, Any thoughts?

I don't think it's been out for much more than 12 months, so you won't get any realistic longterm feedback. I bought one (sept/oct 08) because they were cheap, I like the slack head angle idea and the finish didn't really matter because it was cheap and for throwing around on rocks, also other owners recommended it. My bro in law has a 456 in blue and both bikes show the same little 'discolouration' around the gussets(?). Apart from rust spots and marks caused by chain suck/slap, my frame isn't showing much rust at all, the clear finish is still as good as when I bought it.

Try 4" forks with the summer, you might like it, afterall, the original idea was to give people running shorter travel forks a slacker angle.

The only other thing is that both frames have a short head tube, which isn't to everybodys liking, but can be raised with appropriate stem and/or spacers.

haddock
    Free Member