Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 62 total)
  • Turning normal frame to a cargo bike (xtracycle?)
  • scud
    Free Member

MY working from home seems to be ongoing and my employer is in no rush to have people back in office, so thoughts are turning to going down to one car as my daughter has started high school recently and it is only a 2 mile bus journey for her.

The only time i use car these days is for doing elderly neighbours shopping and when i go away.

I have looked at lots of cargo bikes, but i have a couple of frames knocking about, an old SS Inbred frame and a geared Solaris frame, i am sure that Xtracycle (?) used to do a rear cargo section that would fit existing frames? i have all the components, wheels etc?

But going on their website, doesn’t seem to be a thing anymore, does anyone know of any similar conversion that fit existing frame? Cheers…

PhilO
    Free Member

I have no knowledge of the product, but came across this interesting kit recently: https://argobikes.com/

TBH, though, I’d have thought a trailer is the simplest way to dip your toes in the cargo-bike water.

edhornby

I used to have a cargo bike (a Kona Ute) and loved it apart from the storage in the shed, the length made it a PITA to get in and out: I keep looking at trailers now and again for these kind of uses.

scud
    Free Member

Kona Ute kinda size would be ideal for me, doesn’t need a full on dutch style cargo bike.

Bikes such as the Kona Ute and Surly Big Dummy are all out of stock everywhere, lots of the e-bikes and “large box, small front wheel” style, but don’t need something that big.

wzzzz
    Free Member

Just get shopping delivered.

scud
    Free Member