Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 30 total)
  • Tubolito – a word of caution
  • shortcut

I like to take with me the bear minimum of gear when I go riding but always have a pump, tube, multitool, CO2, Tubeless repair thingy, tyre boot, magic link etc. You know, enough to be self sufficient and help people out.

I don’t have issues on the trail very often preferring to either do my own maintenance in a timely manner, or get someone else to do it for me.

I’ve been carrying two tubolito’s with me for a good 12 months now. In a nylon bag which itself is in a seatpact and away from generally sharp objects. I used one of the tubolitos a few months ago, it worked. All good.

On Tuesday evening however – after a stick to the spokes and valve I went to put one in and it was pissing air. A buddy lent me a proper tube and we were on our way. The tubolito I went to use now has 5 patches on it and is still not holding pressure. The other one which I used maybe 6 months ago for 1/2 a ride before putting back away – well that is also leaking quicker than I can put air in.

It may be time to go back to butyl or certainly check those tubolito’s every couple of months for integrity.

I’m not altogether impressed, but pleased to know about it on a social spin in dry and not cold conditions.

TexWade
    Free Member

Gave up with them – mine split on the outside edge – when rolled up there is a sharp bend in tube and I think eventually it fatigues and wears through. Maybe worth putting in tyres when new but as a spare it is a no go for me.

footflaps

I tried them (on road), both punctured in the first week, more than doubling my annual puncture tally. Fixed them both and gave them away!

johnnystorm

My only experience of them is someone stuffing their tyres with the contents of the Elan Valley toilets leaflet stand such were the Swiss cheese nature of their tubolitos.

ac282