Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 483 total)
  • mr bates vs the post office
  • monkeyboyjc

Has anyone watch it yet?

Just wondering what people’s thoughts on it were. Even if your not particularly interested in the scandal it’s an excellent drama and well worth a watch imo.

oldtennisshoes

Watched episodes 1 & 2 last night. Great drama with Toby Jones doing what he does best. Also horrific to think that the PO could behave in the way they did.
    And as for Paula Vennells 😡

thols2

I worked as a mail sorter for DHL when I was a student. The Mister Bates material used to be in brown envelopes back then. I was always tempted to keep a furtive address book and stalk them for blackmail purposes.

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

What I don’t understand is how did people in the PO not spot the problem?

Surely even if one person thought the new system was catching workers with their hand in the till, the audits must have shown up that there were hundreds (thousands?) of stamps, foreign currency, etc being “sold” that never appeared anywhere else? So anyone of those people doing the audits must have had some clue as to what was happening?

M6TTF
    Free Member

A guy who used to work with my mum, before becoming a postmaster, lost his house, and reputation over this scandal. Unbelievable how it all got swept under the carpet

oldtennisshoes

Would need to understand the relationship between Fujitsu and PO. It’s possible that PO wasn’t aware of how many interventions Fujitsu were making, but more questions and less dogma was required.

Kramer
    Free Member

@thisisnotaspoon

What I don’t understand is how did people in the PO not spot the problem?

They did.

I believe that one of the latest revelations to come out of the enquiry was that in many cases the Post Office Investigators didn’t believe that a crime had been committed, and yet still the prosecutions went ahead.