Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 76 total)
  • Honesty is the worst policy….
  • muckytee
    Free Member

in fact it’s the biggest mistake of my life.

To give a bit of background I’m a 21 year old apprentice bus mechanic. I went through college and qualified as an IT technician, but I didn’t enjoy it and thought I’d prefer something more hands on so eventually became a bus mechanic, I chose the job because it appealed to my interests, not because of the money (well £12 – 14 an hour isn’t a lot when fully qualified.)

I work any overtime required, I’m never late and I hold the attitude that every job must be done well and right and I will do everything I can to ensure that is the case. Sure I’m not perfect, I just wanted to get my attitude across there without wanting to be a cock. I personally enjoy my work and find a good amount of satisfaction in it.

On another note, I’ve never had a relationship, a few one night stands but I’d like a relationship.

In short I want to do a good honest job because I enjoy it and want a genuine relationship too.

But I feel that I am a just a div, I work my arse of when other people stand about and scrape through the day, in fact why am I even fixing buses it’s hard manual labour, I should have bullshitted and got my self a nice desk job, looked busy and done the bare minimum.

With women they just want to be entertained, told pretty stories about travelling and have a guy with a cool job in graphic design (better still a personal trainer) and a beard. Not someone who doesn’t have a car and a job which has no “status” in society.

I thought I’d follow my heart in things and now I think I should have followed my brain, got a nice job, a nice flat and car, impressed some dopey fit girl with that shit and used her until I got bored and moved onto somebody else… ad infinitum

This is roughly how I’m thinking at the moment, I’m struggling to put it into words so I know it sounds a bit silly but…

scotroutes