Home Forums Bike Forum Closest I've come to dying on a bike

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Closest I've come to dying on a bike
  • howarthp

Was out on a group road ride yesterday. Stopped at traffic lights at a T junction. Lights turn green and we set off at a modest pace – car comes past us at 40mph from our right straight through the red light. Had we been 2m further out I wouldn’t be here now. We just saw the car in time to stop. I’ve been riding for 25 yrs – scary.

soobalias
    Free Member

not nice

“assume all drivers are out there to kill you”

Klunk
    Free Member

had a close call the other day on a roundabout, the road crossing my direction goes from single to dual and the there is queue of traffic stopped to let me past all except for the looney women who decides it’s an opportunity to queue jump she’s see’s just in time and comes to a halt about a foot from my front wheel. Many Thanks to the guy on the inside who saw her tanking up the outside in his mirror and stood on his horn.

TiRed

We had several close calls yesterday. Must be something in the air. Glad you are OK. And the kid in the back of the red Audi A3 looked pretty shocked when I tapped on his door at 24 mph.

singletrackmind

Stopped at a Red light onto a roundabout in the car, and a silver LWB Vito CU09 MWL blows straight through . Its 2 lanes in and round.
    Ok its 0530 , but he wasnt stopping and was going about 40 – 50 mph
    idiot

MarkN
    Free Member

The time of day is not relevant. 01:00, 13:00, 0r 18:00 a red is still a red. so it will be green coming the other way and someone could be coming through.

RustySpanner

Mark N – Member

The time of day is not relevant. 01:00, 13:00, 0r 18:00 a red is still a red. so it will be green coming the other way and someone could be coming through.

This.

As long as it applies to everyone, cycists included of course.

cynic-al
    Free Member