Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Would you buy a Cat D damaged car?
  • donsimon
    Free Member

As title, I’m trying to get a feel of what Cat D means in the real world. It’s all new to me. 🙁

domwells27
    Free Member

Increased insurance premium. Potentially harder to sell in the future. What car?

Jamie
    Free Member

Yes and I did.

Fiesta 1.4 with light driver side cosmetic. Had it for about 18 months now and it’s been fine. The most important thing is you know the history of the vehicle. I knew everyone down the chain so knew what had happened to the car as well as seeing it before repair.

It should be fine if the discount is enough and you’re planning on keeping it for a decent period of time.

Buyer beware as usual, so do your homework.

Increased insurance premium

I did not find this, and I am also a new-ish driver. This is with Carole Nash.

…the harder to sell bit is right though.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    weeksy

Nopes, but i would buy a CAT D or even CAT C motorbike 🙂

Junkyard
    Free Member

yes usually means it was uneconomical to repair rather than impossible. My not even be substantial damage – this depends on the price range of the car tbh. Ideally see photos before the repair or a report obviously harder to sell but some bargains to be had still I assume.
    I have fixed them up in the past and it would not put me off but it would also depend what the damage was
    I would want to take someone along who knew cars to see what had been done though

donsimon
    Free Member

Increased insurance premium. Potentially harder to sell in the future. What car?

It’s actually a general question to see how people react to CAT D rather than specific. The car tha I’ve seen is an A6 with few miles on the clock but cheap.