Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 53 total)
  • Retro Marin Mount Vision
  • TiRed

Just bought this for Son1 as he’s outgrowing his hardtail. Anyone like to provide more details, It has a full XT 8 speed groupset, Rockshox Pilot and some spring rear shock. Since I’m new to these mountain bike things, is it a reasonable bike for a 14yo? Think it is from 1999 but am not sure.

He was after a Whyte or an Orange Five, so a single pivot it is :lol:. Was £150 a reasonable price? Suggested upgrades? Fork and hydraulic front brakes? His Kona hardatil has Dart 2’s and Shimano disks. It is however lighter than the Kona.

Oh and he hates the frame as it’s “not modern”. Is he being reasonable? Has suspension geometry changed that much?

rob-jackson
    Free Member

if i was 14 i would be gutted

shortcut

That’s a 98 I believe. Lovely in your 40’s – probably less so in you teens!

jameso

I used to have one of those ) sold loads in the shop I worked at in the late 90s. A great XC bike of the day. Maybe not so cool now and a more wheels-on-ground XC kind of geometry than a 5, but a lot better overall than most suspension bikes of the time. £150 seems fair but you could spend a lot replacing parts if he uses it a lot over the next year.

TiRed

He’ll have grown out of it in a year – That’s the problem. Aside from a slightly off rear rim, it’s mechanically fine.

bigbloke
    Free Member

I suggest a glass fronted mahogany cabinet for it 😉

qwerty
    Free Member

shirly retro musta meana rigid, no

haggis1978

Keep an eye on the swing arm. I think that’s the first model and they were prone to cracking. Also the Mt Vision Pro was the first full sus to win an xc chamPionship if i remember so it can’t be that bad.

TiRed

I did check the swingarm carefully. It’s almost retro I guess, as it’s EDIT: ONE year younger than him.

Cruzheckler – what did you ride at 14?

I suggest a glass fronted mahogany cabinet for it

😆

chainslapp
    Free Member