Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Recommend any mtb routes on Dartmoor…
  • afrayedknot
    Free Member

I am going to Dartmoor for a week, staying in Whitchurch near Tavistock at the end of October. Can anyone recommend any routes please. Thanks

z1ppy

You need to repost this on the main forum (it is bike related after-all) to get the best response.
    What are you after ride wise? The Princetown to the Burrator reservoir then back up the old railway line is an easy going loop (or back the way you came) which I enjoyed whilst there last year (reminded of it on another thread today).
    We saw loads of different stuff there, & throughly enjoyed our trip to the area, even when completely lost and tired.
    Enjoy

afrayedknot
    Free Member

Thanks for the recommendation. This sounds good as I am fairly new to mountain biking and I don’t really like going up hills! And yes it was my first post so I put it in the wrong place.

Kojaklollipop
    Free Member

Welcome to the forum afrayedknot … think about escaping while you can 😉

Some other forums such as bikeradar and mbr have links to routes for many areas (surprised we don’t have something like that on here, thinking about it?) or you could try google’ing routes and see what comes up, sometimes even local tourist info offices will have maps and guides, but, yep, you’ll probably get a better response on the bike forum …

🙂

rewski
    Free Member

You could always do a search on Garmin’s site, just filter activity type to mountain biking. It’s free to register. Garmin Connect

tim41
    Free Member

There’s a fair few of us Dartmoor locals on STW, so there’s a good chance someone will be around to show you a loop. Your best bet would be to post up a bit nearer the time asking for a guide.