• This topic has 45 replies, 39 voices, and was last updated 11 years ago by nuke.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 46 total)
  • how to get a nice clean bike..??
  • ollie151
    Free Member

im new to riding and i just got my self a nice new Swift. i need some advice on cleaning the bike after a ride…

is using high pressure water a bad idea in case it gets into the hub and damages the bearings?

any particular kind of oil/grease?

i’m thinking about buying a chain cleaner (park tools) as ive seen these and they’re quick and easy to use. any other tools?

cheers

Lifer
    Free Member

Washing up liquid.
    Sponge.
    I do find the Park cassette/gear brush good as well.

RobHilton
    Free Member

IME experience chain cleaners are shite and waste of money/unnecessary.

I tend to use Rock & Roll and a towel every few rides if not too grubby or a hose down (not high pressure) and scrub with Fenwicks first if needs be.

rocky-mountain
    Free Member

Oil, rag, wd40, dashboard shine, paintbrush for dry dirt, toothbrush, small blade for sprocket jam, spot of degreaser.
    Hose, bucket, washing up liquid and the dishbrush from the kitchen.
    Dishwasher for chainrings etc, oven for rotors.

On my scandal raw, wire wool and duraglit…..

darrenharrow
    Free Member

Washing up liquid/car shampoo, sponge, plastic bristle brush to get right in to the transmission and scrub it clean. Jay cloth/sponge to clean the chain.

Rinse off well afterwards, I’ve heard washing up liquid has salt in it, don’t want rust.

Lube up afterwards but don’t put too much on and make sure you wipe off excess, too much can attract dirt and clog up your transmission.

midlifecrashes

If you haven’t got one yet, get a SRAM powerlink to suit your chain (they come in 8,9 and 10 speed flavours). Makes it a doddle to pop the chain off for cleaning it in a jar of petrol/paraffin and easier to get at everything else while the chain is off.

ollie151
    Free Member

SRAM powerlink