Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Genesis Tarn 20 or 29?
  • newrobdob
    Free Member

I’m considering selling my Specialized Pitch Pro and getting a hardtail.

I’ve never had a 27.5 or 29er bike but it looks like I have no choice now. 😉

I can get a good deal on Genesis bikes and I do like the brand a lot. However I can’t decide between the 29er or the 20.

I do like the double chainset on the 29er and I do want to try out that wheel size.

However the 20 has arguably a better build kit on it and the plus size tyres are an interesting idea.

Riding around West Yorks mainly, so mixture of rocky steep hills and some sloppy single track.

I’ve been riding for nearly 30 years and I’m stuck completely as this is new territory!

If it’s any help I’m 5’7″ with short arms and a long body with 29″ inside leg.

belugabob
    Free Member

Its available as a frame only, so I was going to suggest that you could build on to your own spec.

However, as is often the case, they’ve made a strange decision by bundling the rigid fork with the frame. By doing this, what should be an empowering option now forces you down a particular route.
    They really ought to offer the frame and fork separately, so that customers can do exactly what they want. If I was in your position, I’d find this very frustrating.

Having said all that, Genesis make brilliant steel hardtails so, if you can settle on the choice between the two models you mentioned, you should have a great bike.

My altitude 00 is 8 years old and, in singlespeed configuration, is still providing me with big grins.

Dave
    Free Member

Having ridden both I’d go 20. Loved the traction uphill and a hoot pointed down anything.

newrobdob
    Free Member

Its available as a frame only, so I was going to suggest that you could build on to your own spec.