Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Duct tape ghetto tubeless
  • Entonox
    Free Member

Anyone use this method?

Been using the BMX tube technique with great success for a couple of years. Now fancy giving this a try. Is it as reliable?

Cheers

dobo
    Free Member

if you means does it seal the holes and build up the inside channel of the rim, then yes it reliable and more reliable than insulating tape, never got on with the tube method myself

aracer
    Free Member

Yes – back in the day it was what Stan recommended doing before he started selling kits (I’ve been running tubeless with normal tyres since 2002, when nobody sold conversion kits or special rims). However this is what Stan recommended using rather than duct tape, and what I’ve always used.

reggiegasket
    Free Member

this stuff is the best. Much cheaper than Stans (not hard…) and good enough for 90psi on road tubeless.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1-x-ROLL-19mm-x-50m-Crossweave-Reinforced-Tape-/180337800112?pt=UK_Packaging_Materials&hash=item29fcf873b0

Entonox
    Free Member

Excellent.

Is this set-up more prone to ‘burping’ in your experiences?

How many layers of tape do you recommend using?

Cheers

dobo
    Free Member

that stuff looks good reggie, might give it a try at that price

reggiegasket
    Free Member

– lightly sand rim
    – clean ith brake cleaner
    – dry off (I get the blowtorch on it 😯 )
    – staring opposite the valve hole, stick tape to rim bed, pull TIGHT to get a good seal and no bubbles
    – two full runs of tape
    – fit valve
    – fit tyre
    – pour in goop and seat tyre
    – blow up and wiggle about

reggiegasket
    Free Member

– lightly sand rim
    – dry off (I get the blowtorch on it 😯 )
    – staring opposite the valve hole, stick tape to rim bed, pull TIGHT to get a good seal and no bubbles
    – two full runs of tape
    – fit valve
    – fit tyre
    – pour in goop and seat tyre
    – blow up and wiggle about

thepurist