Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 42 total)
  • Daft thick-thin chain ring question
  • sam_underhill

I’ve been running 1×11 SRAM X01 for 2 years or so having replaced several chains without really paying attention to how the chain meshes with the ring’s teeth.

It’s all worn out now so I’ve just replaced the chainring, cassette and chain and it occurred to me that perhaps the wide teeth should be aligned with the outer plate links on the chain, and the same for the jockey wheels? Maybe all my other chains ended up in the right position by luck? or it didn’t matter as much as I think?

simon1975

And while we’re on the subject, why can I never find a 33T N/W ring?

Yak

The chain only fits in the correct teeth to chain position on the chainring. Jockey wheels aren’t n/w specific. You won’t have been running anything incorrectly as it is impossible to do so.

whitestone
    Free Member

Do the jockey wheels have thick-thin teeth? If so then align them.

The narrow and wide teeth on the chainring are meant to mesh with the corresponding narrow and wide gaps between chain plates. This along with the fact that the NW chainring doesn’t have the ramps to aid changing gear really helps chain retention – I’ve not had a chain come off in over two years of running 1×10.

Edit – Thought the NW jockey wheels was a joke but … near the bottom

simon1975

Yep my jockey wheels are N/W on SRAM Rival

Yak

Blimey the jockey wheels can be n/w ^ !

Surely in the captive location of a mech, there is no need? 😕

tomhoward

Email wolftooth direct, they don’t advertise but will do a custom one for you.

simon1975

Now you know someone’s gonna stumble on that comment via Google searches for ever more…

whitestone
    Free Member

@yak my thoughts as well. I have seen a chain come off the lower jockey wheel and jam in the cage but that was mainly due to the bearings failing and the jockey wheel wobbling all over the place, NW wouldn’t have helped in that instance.

sam_underhill