Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Cwm Carn – am I going to die?
  • Ax3M4n
    Free Member

I will fess up… I am a relative beginner, but you can't knock my enthusiasm. 1 year of noodling around river banks and sticking to the low country, followed by a recent six month drive to get fitter, better, higher and faster. Mostly round the Chilterns and a couple of days out at Swinley.

Now… a good old friend of mine lives in Abergavenny which aint too far from Cwm Carn – so I organised a weekend visit, but now I've had a look at the main Cwm Carn web site – it's full of warning signs and "Experts Only" and there's only one 15 km Trail/Loop – The Twrch. Rocks, drops, cliffs, steep Ups and steep downs.

http://www.forestry.gov.uk/pdf/cwmcarnLeafletback.pdf/$FILE/cwmcarnLeafletback.pdf

As much as I'd love to say "yeah I can do it", I wonder if it's more meat than I can chew.

Has anyone been there who can give some advice?

soobalias
    Free Member

when you come back you will view swinley a bit differently.

you will be fine,

loddrik
    Free Member

It's a piece of psss umless you are a woman.

LoCo
    Free Member

You'll be fine. 😀

djglover
    Free Member

Its a very easy track

Spankmonkey
    Free Member

do you mean the XC loop or the DH track? if the DH I would perhaps not… it Can be hard if your not up to it. The xc is fine……

Rickos
    Free Member

You'll be fine and you'll love the final descent back to the car park.

Nicknoxx
    Free Member

The climb is a bit of a bugger but the rest can be ridden at your own pace. You won't die. Even the black bit at the top can be rolled and still be quite fun.

phil.w
    Free Member

A lot of people think they are going to die when they do the climb at the start for the first time. 😀

Edit: 3 sec's late 🙄

mooman
    Free Member

As long as you got brakes on the bike – you will be 100% safe.