Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Atera Strada DL 3-4 tow bar carrier
  • MoreCashThanDash

So now we’ve established that “old” Octavia roof bars really don’t fit on new Octavia roof rails….. 🙄

Is this still the forums tow bar rack of choice or should I be looking at something else?

hammyuk
    Free Member

I’m waiting for Decathlon to have the Thule 3 bike back in stock – add the 4th adaptor and bingo!

Markie
    Free Member

The Atera was my choice – made after checking the forum and speaking to someone at roofbox. For us, it’s been fantastic – I don’t see how it could be improved upon. That said, I have no experience of any other tow bar racks!

We run it with a combination of road, 26, 24 and 20 bikes. No problems with any mixes. Ace.

MoreCashThanDash

Markie – that’s the route I’m on. Did you buy from roofbox? Think I get a CTC discount there as well.

Stoner
    Free Member

I got mine from roofbox. Just checked invoice in email inbox, and the DL3 + the 4th carrier cost £400 in Feb-2012. Same price as today.

thegreatape
    Free Member

I have one, pretty happy with it but a couple of points…

– although the arms or braces lock on to the bike frame they can be easily unbolted at the other end so it’s not as secure as it might first appear without a secondary lock of some sort.
    – the ratchets can be quite tricky to release sometimes, as in they don’t pull out very easily. Not really sure why this happens.
    – roofbox.co.uk are the importer/distributor which is probably a factor in how much they enthuse about Atera products compared to the alternatives

It’s a decent product overall though, no doubt.

gkeeffe

I have a strada. Getting four bikes on it isn’t so easy. Even three can be tough. Takes a lot of faffing to stop things rubbing esp if you have carbon goodies.

It’s great with 2 on though cos you can separate them more by using slots one and three.

And the tilt thing works brilliantly.

Markie
    Free Member