Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Anyone used one of these for cleaning the bike
  • Tracey

Thought this would be more use in the camper than buying a mobile jet washer unit, anyone had a play with one

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kfO78OxT2B4

mjsmke

A bucket and sponge is cheaper and kinder on your bearings/shock seals.

Trimix
    Free Member

Yeah, bucket, brush and sponge. Cheaper and works well.

Tracey

Folding bucket and sponge is what we have at the moment, we also have the facility to use an outside shower on the van, its when the bike is really caked with wet sludge and needs to be worked on at race events where it falls down at the moment. Rest of the time we tend to just leave it covered and wash it when we get home. I would never jet wash bearings or seals.
    It looks like it has the facility to turn down the pressure.

molgrips
    Free Member

Don’t understand this fear about seals and jetwashers. I’ve been using a jetwasher for almost 15 years.

And I’d bloody love one of those things in the vid.

EDIT backpack full of bottles and you’d seriously clean up* in water fights.

* pun intended

globalti
    Free Member

The horror. My bike gets wiped clean with a microfibre cloth dampened with milk of a virgin unicorn and then lovingly dried with Bulgarian rose petals.

Trimix
    Free Member

Recently I’ve only needed to dust mine its been so dry.

stumpy01

Looks pretty neat & given that the video shows it being used to water the plants in the ‘low’ setting, seals & bearing should be OK!! 😆

If you already have a ready supply of water, it would probably be a better solution than buying a mobile pressure washer (with canister) as it would presumably pack away smaller.

I’ve got a Worx mini circular saw & it’s a nicely made tool. Not sure it would stand up to professional use, but it was reasonably priced & perfectly up to being used by an infrequent bungling DIYer (me).

molgrips
    Free Member