Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 100 total)
  • Singletrack Forum glossary
  • duncancallum

I feel a lexicon of terms, abbreviations etc would perhaps be an interesting task…

MNPR-monday night pub ride- 2hrs riding round some desolate northern moor in the drizzle followed by a beer

Harry_the_Spider

STW – Same Ten Wakners

Harry_the_Spider

Vortex of Mechanical Failure – On a group ride where one rider suffers a puncture closely followed by another snapping a seat post bolt and so on until somebody breaks a crank/frame/their neck.

Usually in a howling gale.

finbar
    Free Member

‘Making progress’ – I’m not actually a cyclist but post on STW as well as Pistonheads because I like buying bike parts.

Spin
    Free Member

This is going to end up with someone bumming baby robins with frozen sausages.

dangeourbrain
    Free Member

IANAL, I am not a lawyer (other variations such as Dr, plumber, epidemiologist apply). I’ve no experience of the subject matter at hand but I have an opinion which should be treated as absolute and irrefutable fact. This differs from posts not prefixed with IANAL only in so much as the poster accepts their lack of knowledge in the field and feels their opinion is more accurate for it.

Harry_the_Spider

I can see the Isle of Man – What every member of the MNPR traditionally says when at the top of any hill in North West England. Irrespective of whether it is cloudy, raining or dark.

tjagain

TJ = twerpJerk

whitestone
    Free Member

TJ = twerpJerk

I had to check twice as to who posted that!

dannybgoode

WWSTWD – What Would Single Track World Do – usually posed before a question with a blindingly obvious answer which everyone then gives but this is not the answer the OP was looking for.

The OP in this scenario usually has their own idea and gets increasingly enraged when the forum does not act as their echo chamber 😉